Audio Description & Touch Tours

 

Opera: music, costumes, set. We want you to experience it all. 

And with our Audio-described performances, visually-impaired patrons can. 

 

Mention opera and most people think of singing and music, but this is only part of the overall experience. What about scenery, costumes, lighting, direction and choreography? Audio Description helps visually-impaired patrons enjoy the opera experience with live commentary designed to describe the action on stage without compromising the music. 

 

As part of the experience, we include:
A free CD, sent out in advance of the performance, which gives an excellent introduction to the production, including interviews, a synopsis, musical excerpts and details about the costumes, sets and individual characters.
A free Touch Tour of the set, costumes and props before the show.
An audio introduction 15 minutes before the start of the main performance.

 

If you or someone you know is interested in booking for an Audio-described
performance, please make this clear when you contact the Box Office at your chosen theatre. Discounted tickets are available. Tickets for Audio-described performances and Touch Tours must be booked at least two weeks in advance. Guide dogs are welcome.

 

Please note: bookings for Audio-described performances at Theatre Royal Glasgow should now be booked directly with the theatre’s groups department on 0844 871 7602.

 


 

Audio-described performances are listed below. Touch Tours start at 6pm for evening performances and 2.45pm for Sunday matinees.    

 

Carmen
Theatre Royal Glasgow Sat 17 Oct 7.15pm
His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen Sat 24 Oct 7.30pm
Eden Court, Inverness Sat 31 Oct 7.15pm
Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 14 Nov 7.15pm 

 

Ariodante
Theatre Royal Glasgow Sat 20 Feb 7.15pm
Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 27 Feb 7.15pm

 

Rusalka
Theatre Royal Glasgow Sat 9 Apr 7.15pm
Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 16 Apr 7.15pm

 

The Mikado
Theatre Royal Glasgow Sun 8 May 4pm
Eden Court, Inverness Sat 21 May 7.15pm
His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen Sat 28 May 7.30pm
Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sun 5 Jun 4pm

 


 

Interested in joining the team? 

We are always looking for new audio describers to join our dedicated team. If you have some time to spare and would like to find out what is involved, please email Iona Jack