The Pirates of Penzance Gilbert & Sullivan
The Pirates of Penzance
A Co-production with D'Oyly Carte Opera Company

Gilbert and Sullivan as it’s meant to be – pure, uncomplicated fun, performed to the highest standards. This new co-production with D’Oyly Carte Opera Company – returning to the stage for the first time in over 10 years – brings the humour bang up to date with a Python-esque twinkle. A vibrant, stylish and hilarious romp through one of G&S’s finest scores, this show has everything you could want from a great night out.

 

A young man bound by an overactive sense of duty, a soft-hearted pirate king with a hopeless band of rogues at his side, a beautiful young girl, a very modern major-general and an ineffectual bevy of policemen…add a plot hinging on the technicalities of having a birthday on the 29th of February and we’re just about there. What could possibly go wrong?
 

Gilbert’s high speed patter is razor sharp and Sullivan’s score sees him at the top of his game, with the catchy tunes for which he is so well known. Conducted by G&S expert John Owen Edwards and directed by Martin Lloyd-Evans, the fantastic ensemble cast includes a horde of fresh, young talent as well as G&S stars Steven Page as The Pirate King and Richard Suart as the Major-General.

 

The Pirates of Penzance was performed at:

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow

Wed 15 May 2013

Thu 16 May 2013

Fri 17 May 2013

Sat 18 May 2013

 

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen

Thu 23 May 2013
Fri 24 May 2013

Sat 25 May 2013

Pirates Unwrapped Wed 22 May 

 

Festival Theatre Edinburgh

Tue 28 May 2013
Thu 30 May 2013
Fri 31 May 2013

Sat 1 Jun 2013

Pirates Unwrapped Wed 29 May 

 

Eden Court, Inverness

Thu 6 Jun 2013
Fri 7 Jun 2013
Sat 8 Jun 2013
Pirates Unwrapped Wed 5 Jun 

 

Opera House, Manchester

Tue 11 Jun 2013

Wed 12 Jun 2013 

Thu 13 Jun 2013

Fri 14 Jun 2013

Sat 15 Jun 2013

 

Bristol Hippodrome

Tue 18 Jun 2013
Wed 19 Jun 2013
Thu 20 Jun 2013
Fri 21 Jun 2013
Sat 22 Jun 2013

 

Theatre Royal Newcastle

Tue 25 Jun 2013
Wed 26 Jun 2013
Thu 27 Jun 2013
Fri 28 Jun 2013
Sat 29 Jun 2013

 

New Theatre, Oxford

Tue 2 Jul 2013
Wed 3 Jul 2013
Thu 4 Jul 2013
Fri 5 Jul 2013
Sat 6 Jul 2013

 

Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff

Tue 16 Jul 2013
Wed 17 Jul 2013
Thu 18 Jul 2013
Fri 19 Jul 2013
Sat 20 Jul 2013
  

Sung in English with English supertitles 2 hrs 10 mins approximately