The Magic Flute Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
The Magic Flute
NEW PRODUCTION

Following the huge success of The Barber of Seville and The Marriage of Figaro, Sir Thomas Allen and Simon Higlett return to take on the fantastical charms of Mozart’s most inventive opera. Set in a spectacular visual world inspired by ‘steam punk’ Victoriana, this promises to be a stylish and imaginative telling of this much-loved piece.
 

Tamino is shown a painting of a beautiful young maiden and immediately falls in love. She is Pamina, the daughter of the mysterious Queen of the Night, who has been abducted by her mother’s arch enemy, Sarastro. Tamino sets out to rescue her with just a magic flute and Papageno, a bumbling bird-catcher looking for love, to help him. But as their quest progresses the men start to question the motives of those around them, and they soon realise that all is not quite as it seems…
 

A beguiling mix of comedy, fantasy and pantomime, The Magic Flute is also a profound story of the search for love, wisdom and truth. Mozart’s music effortlessly evokes the full gamut of emotions on stage – from heartfelt love songs and comic exchanges to explosive coloratura in the infamous Queen of the Night arias. Scottish tenor Nicky Spence (Intermezzo 2011) sings Tamino, and internationally acclaimed soprano Mari Moriya is the Queen of the Night. Mozart and Magic Flute expert Ekhart Wycik conducts.

 

The Magic Flute was performed at:

 

Theatre Royal Glasgow
Wed 17 Oct 2012

Fri 19 Oct 2012

Sun 21 Oct 2012

Tue 23 Oct 2012

Thu 25 Oct 2012

Sat 27 Oct 2012
The Magic Flute Unwrapped 18 Oct 2012

 

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen
Thu 1 Nov 2012

Sat 3  Nov 2012
The Magic Flute Unwrapped 2 Nov 2012

 

Eden Court, Inverness
Thu 8 Nov 2012 

Sat 10 Nov 2012
The Magic Flute Unwrapped 9 Nov 2012

 

Festival Theatre Edinburgh
Fri 16 Nov 2012 

Sun 18 Nov 2012

Tue 20 Nov 2012

Thu 22 Nov 2012

Sat 24 Nov 2012

The Magic Flute Unwrapped 15 Nov 2012

 

Grand Opera House, Belfast

Thu 29 Nov 2012

Sat 1 Dec 2012

The Magic Flute Unwrapped 30 Nov 2012

 

Supported by Dunard Fund and The Scottish Opera Syndicate

Sung in English with English supertitles Running time approximately 3 hours