Free Events

 

 

 
Widen your opera experience with in-depth talks, pop-up shows and back-stage insights. 

 

Whether you're new to opera or an old hand, we have a free event to help enhance your enjoyment of our productions. Choose from Opera Unwrapped, our Pre-show talks, or our Pop-up Opera Roadshow.

 


 Opera Unwrapped 

 

Opera Unwrapped is a free hour-long taster that gives you the chance to see what the shows we stage are all about.

 

Presented from the set of each production, our Unwrapped events involve singers, backstage crew and The Orchestra of Scottish Opera. You'll hear highlights from the music and be introduced to the principal characters from the opera, the plot and some key scenes. You'll also find out more about the props, costumes, lighting and direction, as well as some of the theatrical secrets behind the production. 

 

Tickets are free but should be reserved by calling the Box Office at your chosen venue.
 

Il trovatore Unwrapped

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Fri 22 May 6pm

Eden Court, Inverness Fri 5 Jun 6pm

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen Fri 12 Jun 6pm

 

Carmen Unwrapped

Theatre Royal Glasgow Wed 14 Oct 6pm

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen Fri 23 Oct 6pm

Eden Court, Inverness Fri 30 Oct 6pm

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Wed 4 Nov 6pm

 

Ariodante Unwrapped

Theatre Royal Glasgow Wed 17 Feb 6pm

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Thu 25 Feb 6pm

 

Rusalka Unwrapped

Theatre Royal Glasgow Fri 8 Apr 

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Fri 15 Apr 6pm

 

The Mikado Unwrapped

Theatre Royal Glasgow Wed 11 May 6pm

Eden Court, Inverness Wed 18 May 6pm

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen Wed 25 May 6pm

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 4 Jun 2.30pm

Grand Opera House, Belfast Sat 11 Jun 2.30pm

 


Pre-show talks

 

Want to know even more about the opera you’re going to see? Look out for a performance with a Pre-show talk. These free half-hour talks delve deeper into the opera, enhancing your enjoyment and extending your knowledge of the piece.

 

Tickets are free but should be reserved by calling the Box Office at your chosen venue. Limited availability.

 

Il trovatore

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 30 May 6pm

Eden Court, Inverness Sat 6 Jun 6pm

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen Sat 13 Jun 6pm

 

Carmen

Theatre Royal Glasgow Sun 11 Oct 2.45pm

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen Sat 24 Oct 6pm

Eden Court, Inverness Sat 31 Oct 6pm

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sun 8 Nov 2.45pm

 

Ariodante

Theatre Royal Glasgow Sat 20 Feb 6pm

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 27 Feb 6pm

 

Rusalka

Theatre Royal Glasgow Sat 9 Apr 6pm

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 16 Apr 6pm



The Mikado

Theatre Royal Glasgow Sat 7 May 6pm

Eden Court, Inverness Sat 21 May 6pm

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen Sat 28 May 6pm

Festival Theatre Edinburgh Sat 4 Jun 6pm